Do you celebrate your cancer-versary?

I'm choosing to celebrate life

One Year with Cancer

This was the exact moment right before my doctor walked in and said, “Amanda, I’m so sorry to tell you but you have Breast Cancer.”

Huhhhhhh….whaaaaaat…..FML…tears…anger..sadness…all the feels.

I knew my life was about to change but I wasn’t sure in what capacity.

I know I talk about being grateful for cancer - I have a new lens on life, amazing people have entered my life, my perspective has completely changed.

But while I’m still grateful, also F%$K cancer.

It has forced me into a new life that I never truly wanted, it has taken away so much of my physical abilities, it has redirected my career in ways that are still unknown, it has completely put my life on hold.

Many of you shared last night on our bi-weekly call how cancer has affected your lives in tumultuous ways.

Stripping your wants and dreams away from you in the blink of an eye.

And though we have every right to be angry and sad and we must give ourselves the permission to feel all the feels…

I still say to you, believe in miracles, trust your timeline, remember that anything can change at any moment, and celebrate every big and SMALL milestone.

Wednesday I celebrated my 1 year cancer-versary and though I still say F%$K cancer, I chose to celebrate that I survived life.

Cancer will continue to try to bring you down time and time again.

But only you are in charge of how you feel, how you get up and keep moving forward, and how you choose to still celebrate life, even when things aren’t going 100%.

You have a community of people who just “get it” and are walking the same journey parallel to yours.

Wherever you’re at on this journey, pre-treatment, mid-treatment, remission, lifelong treatment, etc, every phase is temporary and though it may feel like the end of the world right now, this too shall soon pass.

Sending you all the love and healing vibes this week✨

MEETING RECAP

This week we really got deep and became introspective on how cancer has really affected us. It was a great conversation with vulnerability and laughter. This is another reminder that everything is temporary.

See you in 2 weeks!

🍋PROGRAM OF THE WEEK🍋

First Descents

I just got back from a week long surf camp in Santa Cruz, CA. I joined 13 other young cancer adults for surfing, connecting, and community at what felt like adult summer camp. First Descents offers free outdoor programs all over the US for adults 18-45. Everything is paid for while you are there and they have travel scholarships to cover airfare if you need support.

This was one of the best experiences to date especially being surrounded by people who knew everything I was going through. If you are interested, applications open Feb/March 2024 and you can apply here.

💪🏽WELLNESS TIP OF THE WEEK💪🏽

Neuropathy

If you struggle with neuropathy try adding L-Glutamine to your daily routine as well as increased movement to fingers and feet affected by this. Always speak to your doctor before adding in any supplements!

🎵TREATMENT SONG OF THE WEEK🎵

I saw this live in London and have not stopped singing it since.

🗓UPCOMING EVENTS🗓

🌟WED Oct 4 5:30pm PST: BI-WEEKLY CANCER BADDIES CALL

What other events/offerings would you like to have? Send me an email!

Going through chemo soon and unsure of what to expect? Well GOOD NEWS, I wrote a book just for you! I shared all the in’s and out’s of chemotherapy: what to expect, side effects, all things cold capping (and where to get a scholarship), egg freezing, and all the mindset tools to help you on your cancer journey. Get my interactive color PDF HERE or the Amazon Kindle version HERE.