The end of an Era 🎉

Celebrating my end of treatment!

I am Officially Done with Cancer Treatment 🥳

I don’t know how we got here, but we did!!! After 1.5 years of treatment for Stage 2 Breast Cancer, I am officially done with treatment.

I finished 6 rounds of TCHP, a double mastectomy, 25 cycles of radiation, and 14 low-dose chemo rounds of Kadcyla. I have my expander to impant surgery on May 2 as my final breast cancer appointment and then I am REALLY done.

I remember looking back on my diagnosis day and not fully understanding the road ahead of me but knowing it would be a long one and unsure of when it would end.

Every step of the way was hard. And in a different kind of a hard than the last. Each pillar of treatment presenting its own set of physical and mental obstacles.

I say I don’t know how I got here, but I do. I got to the end by focusing on where my feet were and taking one step at a time. Moving from one appointment to the next not trying to look too far in the distance.

At the beginning of treatment a lot of us look at the mountain of things we are going to overcome and emotionally break down thinking of how overwhelming it all is. Instead of focusing on the finish line, focus on the entirety of the journey.

Focus on getting through the next thing and the next thing and the next thing. Even today if I start to think about my surgery next month I get overhwhelmed. Instead, I only focus on the pre-op appointment, then my to-do list, and then I mentally start to prepare myself for what’s to come. Looking too far in the future when there are 10 steps before that puts my brain into a scramble.

I have celebrated friends finish before me and I can’t wait to celebrate you finish after me. For now, celebrate all of your big and tiny wins until we can celebrate you crossing the finish line in the near future!

Thank you all for being the best support team around 🫶🏽

XO, Amanda

CB MEETING RECAP ✍🏼

It’s been a month since I caught up with y’all because of my trip to Italy. It was so nice seeing old and new faces, thank you to everyone who joined. If you want to catch the next one, it will be on Wed April 17 at 5:30pm PST.

  • How long does it take for chemo to leave your system after finishing treatment? A few people believe it took them around 6 weeks to really start to notice improved side effects from chemo.

  • What is chemo brain? Feels like a lack of brain synapses firing and a disconnect of cables. Forgetfulness, memory issues, inability to concentrate, brain fog, etc.

  • Remedies for disproportionate expanders? If you are undergoing radiation with expanders, the radiated breast will be filled larger than the non-radiated side. This causes an imbalance in size and appearance. Someone suggested using boob tape to try to enhance the smaller size others said there was not much you can do.

  • LA meetup to be planned if our Australian member, Felicity, makes an appearance in June/July! Fill out this form HERE & stay tuned!

Here is the Zoom Invite for our next call!

https://zoom.us/j/98438840299 Meeting ID: 984 3884 0299

🍋PRODUCT OF THE WEEK🍋

Rick Simpson Oil (RSO)

It’s been a minute since I’ve spoken about Rick Simpson Oil (RSO) but let’s not forget how much it saved my life during chemo. RSO is a cannabis oil specifically for cancer patients undergoing treatment. It helps shrink tumors and eliminate side effects (nausea, lack of appetite, vomiting). It helped manage my extreme nausea and allowed to me eat without having to take more medicine. Start with ½ grain of rice on a cracker and wait 1-2 hours for you to feel the effects. Watch a video I made HERE. You can find RSO at a dispensary near you.

💪🏽WELLNESS TIP OF THE WEEK💪🏽

Nutrient Packed Smoothie

I struggle to get in my micronutrients and protein around treatment because the idea of veggies is sometimes repulsive. Here is a quick and easy smoothie idea that provides micronutrients, electrolytes, and a ton of fruity flavor!

1 Cup of your favorite frozen fruit (I use mango, pineapple, peaches, strawberries)

½ Frozen banana for creaminess

½ Cup of Spinach

1 Serving of protein powder

1 Scoop of L-Glutamine (helps heal neuropathy, gut issues, reduce sugar cravings)

1 Squirt of Buoy flavorless electrolytes

½ Cup of Orange Juice

½ Cup of Water (add more until perfect consistency)

Blend & enjoy!

🎵TREATMENT SONG OF THE WEEK🎵

Kyle (Northern Line) - Fred again..

New version, same beauty

🗓UPCOMING EVENTS🗓

🌟Wed April 17 - 5:30pm PST: BI-WEEKLY CANCER BADDIES CALL

Join Zoom Meeting https://zoom.us/j/98438840299 Meeting ID: 984 3884 0299

What other events/offerings would you like to have? Want to nominate a Cancer Baddie for CB of the Month? Send me an email!

Going through chemo soon and unsure of what to expect? Well GOOD NEWS, I wrote a book just for you! I shared all the in’s and out’s of chemotherapy: what to expect, side effects, all things cold capping (and where to get a scholarship), egg freezing, and all the mindset tools to help you on your cancer journey. Get my interactive color PDF HERE or the Amazon Kindle version HERE.