I ended up in the ER...

and here's why I'm grateful I did

So Here’s What Happened…

A week ago I went to bed and woke up with blurred vision unable to see things close up or in focus.

It was like an onset of a migraine was coming but I knew this was different.

After calling my doctor and speaking to a nurse friend, they urged me to go to the emergency room immediately. Blurred vision is no joke.

But the wild part was that it was 8:00am and I was supposed to be teaching class at 8:30 and I was already on my way.

So I cancelled class and detoured straight to the hospital, unsure of what my first ER experience was going to look like or how the results would pan out.

Doctors immediately wanted to test my brain health and ordered an MRI.

Thank God for the internet because I posted onto my IG stories and people immediately came to the rescue, reminding me of the anti-nausea patches I was wearing.

I put on this tiny but MIGHTY Scopolamine patch a few days earlier and had also posted them to my stories. Little did I know the impact they would have on my body.

A few people said they too had had blurred vision and severe dry mouth after using these patches — very similar to my experience.

I immediately notified my nurse who notified the doctor and the doctor came in giggling saying my side effects were 100% related to this patch.

Needless to say, I went home and immediately threw all of them out.

This ER experience could have been way worse and i’m so grateful it was something this minor.

But why am I grateful?

As horrible as this rollercoaster of cancer is that we are experiencing, I say we are the lucky ones…

The lucky ones who get a new lease on life to experience life through a brand new lens.

Yes, we go through major scares (like the ER) and have seen the utmost worst of the worst when it comes to having a “bad” day.

Yes, we wake up unsure if we will feel good or will have to cancel all plans due to our health.

Yes, we live in hospitals and the smell of alcohol makes our gag reflex go from 0 to 100 in .2345 seconds.

Yes, we are living with cancer.

BUT-

We have seen the worst of the worst and actually can appreciate a truly good day.

We have gratitude for the little moments, like the sun shining, waking up with no pain, belly laughs with friends.

People whom we never thought we would strike up a friendship with have become some of our closest allies.

The little things are no longer LITTLE things.

The meaningless, “How are you doing?” texts, now brighten our days.

We have a new perspective.

A new lease on life.

So yes my friends, we are the lucky ones.

And so, when the bad days come, know the good ones are right on the horizon…

Therefore, making me so grateful for little trips to the ER.

Cancer Baddies Meeting Recap

SHOCKER: Everyone went to the Taylor Swift Concert🎶

Info for those about to embark on their Keytruda Journey:

  • Fairly easy to tolerate

  • Light side effects: fatigue, fever, rash

  • Allows you to have a better quality life between treatments

If you’re looking for a good regrowth hair oil HoliRoots Oil

Sharsheret will create a custom wig for you and if you’re close to a studio will provide a $250 styling credit.

🍋PRODUCT OF THE WEEK🍋

Eylure Lashes 

We have all gone through the struggle of losing our lashes to chemo, but STRUGGLE NO MORE. These eyelashes were created by a previous cancer patient for everyone, including cancer patients. Designed with a clear strip to adhere to the lash lid vs existing lashes will provide the look for natural full lashes during and post-treatment

💪🏽WELLNESS TIP OF THE WEEK💪🏽

Sweat it Out

Maybe you don’t have the energy right now to work out and that’s okay. It’s important to try to detox and flush out the chemo drugs after a treatment session but how do we do that? Through sweat and urine! If you have access to a sauna, try sitting in there for 20-30 minutes (while drinking plenty of water) post-treatment. You will feel better, sleep better, and help the body detox the toxins a lot quicker!

🎵TREATMENT SONG OF THE WEEK🎵

Make me Feel Good - Belters Only, Jazzy

This one will make you want to dance💃🏽

🗓UPCOMING EVENTS🗓

🌟WED AUG 23: We have moved back to a bi-weekly call!

Stay tuned on special events!

What other events/offerings would you like to have? Send me an email!