Facing Another Cancer Scare?

Worst Nightmare Come True

Cancer Scare

Many of you saw the TikTok I posted earlier this week about my most recent PET scan results.

I just finished cancer treatment after battling it for the last 1.5 years and completing countless amounts of chemo, radiation, and now 2 surgeries.

I was looking forward to this scan to finally eliminate any real questions about being cancer free and to confirm what my doctor had been telling me for a year…that I was truly in remission.

Unfortunately, my scans showed something very different. Two spots on my right lung, one spot on my left and my lymph nodes lighting up. We love that.

My onc isn’t sure if it’s true cancer or inflammation due to my respiratory infection I’ve been fighting for the last month, post-Italy travels and Coachella festivities. No sleep = a very very sick Amanda.

I scheduled an appointment with the pulmonary doctor for last Friday and he too, had some grim news for me. He wanted another CT scan and a lung biopsy.

Devastation. Fear. Confusion. Anger. I mean WTF?! I’ve just been preparing to breathe again and was ready to rest after fighting for my life. There is no way in hell this is cancer? …Right?

There are a lot of thoughts and emotions circulating but after I’ve had some time to relax and give myself some much needed pep talks, here’s what I’ve realized:

1: The night before my Breast Cancer diagnosis, I was reminded that the only control we have is over our current emotions. The what if’s, what and’s, and maybe’s of it all, only leaves us more scared, more anxious, and in the same spot we were to begin with…unsure. Focus on the now, what you can control, and take it one moment at a time.

2: The likelihood of my cancer metastasizing during treatment is very slim and the chances of inflammation showing from possibly the worst cold I’ve ever had, is very likely. My doctor said she would have never ordered the PET if she knew I was sick. Logically this makes sense. But cancer never really makes sense, does it?

3: Logically I just have to ask myself, what are the next steps? And then take them. Book the CT scan, check. Schedule the biopsy, check. If the CT results show my inflammation has gone down, then the biopsy will be cancelled. So just take the first step. It will all fall into place and whatever comes, I can address once it comes. Until then, breathe sister.

I so appreciate all the comments, emails, texts, etc because they have all immensely helped. I am so grateful for this amazing community and the outpouring of support for one another. I will keep you all posted - and as of right now, I am recovering in my bed post-surgery with a fresh set of ta-ta’s and a slim lipo’d waist. SUMMER HERE I COME!

xo, amanda

CB MEETING RECAP✍🏼

Welcome Danielle, Kayla, Angel, Heidi, Chelsea & Laura💖

Celebrating Nicole on being completely done with cancer + Sherri & Shonyia no more treatment!! Cheers, Queens🎉

  • Minoxidil Men’s 5% Hair Regrowth Serum - for fast post-chemo hair growth! Make sure to do research on the side effects of using these products. Get on Amazon on Costco.

  • Arnica Bruise Gel for Lipo or Lipo Foam - helps with bruising and recovery for anyone doing fat grafting!

  • Nipple Sparring Surgery and Losing Sensation - fears over losing nipple sensation and it affecting your sex life, finding a nerve surgeon who can try to keep sensations or accepting the change, accepting that things will be different but standing confident in whatever decision you make.

💪🏽WELLNESS TIP OF THE WEEK💪🏽

Soursop Tea

Drinking this tea 2-3x/day can have great cancer fighting benefits. Soursop contains many phytochemicals which are known to have anticancer effects.

In a study in mice, researchers found that the leaves from soursop showed an anticancer effect on breast cancer cell lines. Studies have also shown that extracts from soursop can aid in destroying cells that are resistant to specific chemotherapy drugs.

🎵TREATMENT SONG OF THE WEEK🎵

More Tems, please. She cures all.

🗓UPCOMING EVENTS🗓

🌟Wed May 22 - 5:30pm PST: Grieving Through Cancer w/ Dr. Julie Shaw

Join us for our May event featuring, Dr. Julie Shaw, a certified grief educator, grief coach, speaker and experienced griever. Dr. Shaw is committed to building an inclusive community of grievers who are curious, ready to explore and moved to find ways they can integrate grief into their lives and continue to thrive. She is the founder of Hello I‘m Grieving, a community where grievers can find support and motivation through innovative, thought-provoking events.

Stay tuned for sign ups in the coming weeks!

What other events/offerings would you like to have? Want to nominate a Cancer Baddie for CB of the Month? Send me an email!

Going through chemo soon and unsure of what to expect? Well GOOD NEWS, I wrote a book just for you! I shared all the in’s and out’s of chemotherapy: what to expect, side effects, all things cold capping (and where to get a scholarship), egg freezing, and all the mindset tools to help you on your cancer journey. Get my interactive color PDF HERE or the Amazon Kindle version HERE.