Losing Loved Ones to Cancer

Putting Life Into Perspective

This week I lost a friend to cancer. He’s been fighting this awful disease for years now and unfortunately at the age of 24, he lost his battle.

Going through cancer, it really puts life into perspective. It makes you question everything you do, how you view life, the decisions you make on a daily basis, and who and what is important.

This loss has hit extremely hard. Maybe it’s because I just survived cancer and I’m questioning, why me? Or maybe it’s because I haven’t fully processed how cancer has affected me and losing my friend really highlighted how deeply serious this disease is. What is the meaning of all of this?

We spend so much of our time worrying about the shit that doesn’t matter. The traffic jams, the annoying work emails, making more money, spending hours in the office abandoning ourselves and loved ones, people who don’t treat us well, the daily annoyances, etc, etc, etc.

Even going through cancer myself, I’ve realized through this loss that I may have taken this process and my survival for granted.

Tomorrow truly isn’t promised and we are only reminded of that when death comes knocking on our door.

My friend, Grizzy, was only 24. He won’t ever have kids, won’t get married, won’t find his dream career or ever get to travel the world again. His life was cut short but one thing he was, was grateful. Grateful for the experiences he lived, the people around him and he held so much grace for someone who was diagnosed terminal at 19.

He was wise beyond his years and from the moment I met him, I felt drawn to him. Maybe it was his calmness knowing his life was being cut short or maybe it was because he lived like his diagnosis didn’t define him. Something about him felt special.

He is a reminder to keep living every moment like it’s your last. Let go of the stupid shit. Take the trip. Tell the person you love them. Celebrate every small win on this journey. Get clear on what life really means to you and then cherish every single moment that comes after.

We are all examples that life is short and can change in the blink of an eye. Take a moment today to thank God, the Universe, your angels and yourself that you are still here breathing and living life. If not for you, then for Grizzy.

Love you all.

Amanda

🎉MARK YOUR CALENDARS JULY 4TH WEEKEND🎉

The stars have aligned and our amazing Australian CB, Felicity, will be coming to LA the weekend of July 4!! I would love to arrange a weekend of fun for us Cancer Baddies July 5-7 and have been planning some ideas. If you would love to fly in for the festivities, I will be working with some hotels to see if we can get room rates for the weekend.

This will be an amazing weekend to gather and connect in person with each other! Stay tuned for more details, but reply to this email or email me directly if you are interested in attending.

🍋PRODUCT OF THE WEEK🍋

Tamoxifen

I have started my Tamoxifen journey for officially 1 week now. The first few days I took it in the AM but then switched to PM. I’m not sure which I prefer but I do know that it is affecting my sleep at night and causing night sweats. I will keep you posted and per usual, will update you on TikTok so make sure to follow me there!

🎵TREATMENT SONG OF THE WEEK🎵

For you, Grizzy <3

🗓UPCOMING EVENTS🗓

🌟WED APRIL 17 - 5:30pm PST: BI-WEEKLY CANCER BADDIES CALL

Join Zoom Meeting https://zoom.us/j/98438840299 Meeting ID: 984 3884 0299

What other events/offerings would you like to have? Want to nominate a Cancer Baddie for CB of the Month? Send me an email!

Going through chemo soon and unsure of what to expect? Well GOOD NEWS, I wrote a book just for you! I shared all the in’s and out’s of chemotherapy: what to expect, side effects, all things cold capping (and where to get a scholarship), egg freezing, and all the mindset tools to help you on your cancer journey. Get my interactive color PDF HERE or the Amazon Kindle version HERE.