The TikTok Drama and What I Learned

Last week was a doozy...

Already Cancelled in 2024

I took some time away from social media (including this newsletter) last week after enduring some drama on TikTok. If you missed it and have no idea what i’m talking about, let me explain.

You all know I have openly shared my cancer journey online and the mission behind what I do is to help others like ourselves feel less alone and better supported on this path.

I recently got new hair extensions and was so proud of them, although I knew they weren’t 100% perfect, it was expected due to my weird post-chemo regrowth. I shared a video of the process and fell under attack from women around the world claiming my hair looked bad and was not blended.

I was devastated, embarrassed and felt insecure about something that I was just excited about. Feeling good during and post-treatment is such a challenge we all face so if we are able to feel good for one day, it is a blessing.

Sharing your life on social media of course opens the door to critics and trolls but this was on another level and people were trying to cancel me for sticking up for myself. I took time away to process it all, feel better, and ultimately share what I learned from this experience with y’all.

So, here’s what I learned:

  1. You will never please everyone and what matters to you is most important. Allowing others to infiltrate your confidence, self-worth and character will only make you question yourself, when at the end of the day the person who know’s you best, is you. You are beautiful. You are worthy. You are enough. And f*ck everyone who thinks differently.

  2. A lot of our interactions with others are mere projections from that person’s experiences. We have all lived different lives, have had different experiences, were raised differently, have different beliefs and morals that ultimately shape who we are. What we experience in life shapes our thoughts and of course, actions. It is our responsibility to learn from these experiences with the goal of leaving better than how we arrived. Just because you have had bad experiences with something or someone does not mean you will have bad experiences moving forward. Just because you were raised to believe certain ideals does not mean you have to hold on to dated beliefs. We project these things onto others rather than giving grace and seeing each experience as isolated events and individuals. It is easy to project your insecurities onto others to try to make yourself feel better in the interim. Let’s all remember to be kind to others and know that each of us are battling our own challenges and struggles on a daily basis.

  3. Own who you are. Unless you have done something wrong, hurt others, or affected someone’s life, stand in your power. You never owe anyone an apology for being who you are and those who love you will support you. Cancer changes you and the people around you will also change. Allow the growth to happen and allow the right people to fall into place. Stop apologizing for being a new you because that is never anything to be sorry about.

  4. Take breaks when you need. This social media break was exactly what I needed to clear my mind, self-soothe, and protect my energy. Often times we struggle to set and maintain boundaries because we are afraid of what others may think or say. Establish boundaries with those who continuously cross them and don’t be afraid to take breaks from relationships or other things that aren’t serving you. Cancer is enough stress on the body, stop allowing others to make your life harder than it already is.

Love you all!

Amanda

2/7 CB Meeting Recap

Wow what a meeting - our biggest attendance yet! Thank you all for showing up for yourself and others, this was a much needed call. I hope you received something special from it.

🌟 We started the call by asking what is something you’re struggling with right now? I believe there is an importance to strength in numbers and leaning on others for support.

🌟 Pregnancy with HER2+, anyone know of any success stories? Let’s help a CB who is currently struggling with a tough decision ahead. Email me directly if you have any experience or advice.

🌟 Feeling sadness or depression during treatment? Again, CB members highlighted their experiences with anti-depressants and how it has significantly improved their life. Talk to your doctor.

🌟 NOMINATE A CB OF THE MONTH! Email me!

🍋PRODUCT OF THE WEEK🍋

BONAFIDE PRODUCTS

WE DID IT! I worked out a partnership with Bonafide so now you can get your hands directly on their amazing menopause support items such as Revaree (vaginal dryness), Ristela (increased libido), Relizen (hot flash & night sweat relief) and Silvessa (healthier hair and skin) using code AMANDA20 for 20% off your first month subscription.

I used Revaree for 1 month and it changed my life. After 3 months I wanted to test out another company and it was awful so now I am back on Revaree and regret switching. I hope this helps alleviate your menopausal side effects!

🎵TREATMENT SONG OF THE WEEK🎵

I AM WOMAN - Emmy Meli

You all inspire me and I hope you see your own beauty and strength!

🗓UPCOMING EVENTS🗓

🌟WED FEB 21 - 5:30pm PST: Cancer Cleansing with Qigong with Chris Shelton

The purpose of this meditation is to help cancer patience mitigate symptoms. With this practice one can actually use their mind to combat imbalances and blockages inside their body. This practice will also help boost energy for those going through cancer treatments.

Dedicated to improving the consciousness of ALL people, Chris Shelton’s motto is, “If I can do it, YOU can too!”

Chris has dedicated his life to helping people reduce stress and relieve pain.

Over 30 years ago, Qigong, an ancient holistic health modality that combines traditional Chinese medicine with movement, breath and visualization, saved his life.

As a teenager he suffered from a devastating back injury that left him in constant pain and barely able to walk.

In a 10 year period, he went from major suffering to a martial-arts champion to a renowned healer and successful business owner.

Chris attributes his full recovery to Qigong, a holistic approach perfect for people who want non-invasive, affordable and empowering healthcare.

He’s helped thousands of people across the United States and around the world reclaim their health and enjoy life free from chronic pain. Chris has worked with Special Olympics teams, professional athletes, and celebrities looking for deeper meaning in their lives.

Chris’ work has appeared in newspapers and magazines and been featured on podcast, television and all over the web. He is the founder of Morning Crane Healing Arts Center in San Jose and Los Angeles, California, the author of Qigong for Self-Refinement, the co-creator of The Qi Club and Qigong Teacher Training.

Sign ups will be available next week so stay tuned!

What other events/offerings would you like to have? Want to nominate a Cancer Baddie for CB of the Month? Send me an email!

Going through chemo soon and unsure of what to expect? Well GOOD NEWS, I wrote a book just for you! I shared all the in’s and out’s of chemotherapy: what to expect, side effects, all things cold capping (and where to get a scholarship), egg freezing, and all the mindset tools to help you on your cancer journey. Get my interactive color PDF HERE or the Amazon Kindle version HERE.